UK-SSGTI
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

thinking of making my gls, gti , bit of help please

+2
STEVEGTI
chrisssy
6 posters

Go down

thinking of making my gls, gti , bit of help please Empty thinking of making my gls, gti , bit of help please

Post  chrisssy 28/05/09, 10:01 pm

ok im thinking about making my gls a gti but the engine i am looking at is a 1990 will i lose my electric windows or out else? or am i best looking for i think 1992+? for electric windows etc. like i'm not 100% sure what has to be changed with the electrics is it everything to the backlights , electric windows etc or isit just ignition ecu rev etc. im not a mechanic,just mechanically minded but would love the project and of course do alot more research before starting it.

chrisssy

Back to top Go down

thinking of making my gls, gti , bit of help please Empty Re: thinking of making my gls, gti , bit of help please

Post  STEVEGTI 29/05/09, 07:33 am

you need a gti loom any one will do you can always wire the windows seperate not a big deal you need a engine ecu gearbox shafts etc best is to get a whole gti off of ebay then swap the lot you will also need to put a rear anti roll bar linkage on the back either make one or cut the mounts off of a gti ph2 gtis had thicker anti roll bars so those are the ones to get if ya can

steve
STEVEGTI
STEVEGTI
Admin

Character sheet
first car: suzuki swift gti

http://www.uk-ssgti.com

Back to top Go down

thinking of making my gls, gti , bit of help please Empty Re: thinking of making my gls, gti , bit of help please

Post  dominator 29/05/09, 11:37 am

the engine loom and the chassis loom are 2 different things mate
the only thing that will need modifying is maybe the revcounter and spedo but that all depends on which gbox you will be using

gary

dominator

Character sheet
first car: renult 5 ts (1.7!)

Back to top Go down

Post  chrisssy 30/05/09, 10:53 am